Should We Drink?

I have never had a drink and because of family tradition I believed that it was wrong according to the Bible. I had never really thought too much about it as all the Christian people that I knew did not drink.

 This however changed when about 10 years ago I changed churches and found people who did not see anything wrong with having a drink. I found myself having to question the tradition under which I had lived most of my life.

 I listened to people’s arguments and read heaps of articles. I decided that I must search the Bible and see what God had to say. The initial message seemed to be that it was OK to drink as long as you don’t get drunk. I was content and I would never say to anyone that they should not drink.

Then one day the Holy Spirit showed me three scriptures and connected them.

 Leviticus 10:9-11 His instructions to priests.

“Do not drink wine or intoxicating drink, you nor your sons with you, when you go into the tabernacle of meeting, lest you die. It shall be a statute forever throughout your generations, that you may distinguish between holy and unholy, and between unclean and clean, and that you may teach the children of Israel all the statues which the Lord has spoken to them by the hand of Moses”

 Proverbs 31:4-7 His instructions to kings.

“It is not for kings to drink wine, nor for princes intoxicating drink, lest they drink and forget the law, and pervert the justice of all the afflicted. Give strong drink to him who is perishing, and wine to those who are bitter of heart. Let him drink and forget his poverty, and remember his misery no more.”

 Revelation 1:5-6 Who we are.

“To Him who loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood, and has made us kings and priests to His God and Father, to Him be glory and dominion forever and forever.”

 He then said to me that no matter what others may do did I want to be a king and a priest to God. Because I did want that I decided that I was not going to drink. I had peace in my heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Should We Drink?

  1. vojka says:

    what about Communion?
    take juice or vine? i see that most churches in my region (Croatia, Europe) even they not recommend drinking alcohol they regularly take vine for Communion.

    • I am very sorry that I did not reply to your comment before now. I will give careful thought and prayer to your question and reply soon.

    • Vojka I don’t think it matters what is used for communion. Paul when he wrote to the Corinthians, who he said were carnal, was concerned that they were not recognising what the bread and wine represented. When they were coming together for supper some were actually getting drunk. He disciplined them because they were treating the bread and wine as if it was a common meal where some had and some went hungry.
      When they ate the bread it was to remind them of the whipping that purchased devine health for us. The wine was to remind them of the blood which he shed to restore our relationship with Father. When they lost sight of that they faced losing the things that they represented and Paul was very concerned about that.
      We have freedom in all things but we exercise that freedom through tour love for Father and our love for our neighbour. The most important thing is what the symbols represent rather than whether it was juice or wine.
      Bless you richly.

  2. Cheri says:

    Wow. Thank you so very much for taking the time to share this. I have wrestled with the question of whether or not to drink alcohol for a long time. After years of social drinking (and being careful not to drink too much), I abstained because I was asked not to by a ministry partner and dear friends…but I didn’t have peace in my heart. Not drinking in the many social circles I find myself in is truly a sacrifice and I struggled. I think you just provided the compelling reason in your scriptures. I want to be a priest for God. I pray that God gives me His grace to sacrifice for Him and not drink; I appreciate being lifted in prayer. Cheri

  3. Chris Smith says:

    Jesus turned water into wine for the guests at the wedding. I do NOT believe that Jesus would have acted in a manner to cause them to “stumble” or be anything less than everything God wanted them to be, either princes or kings. I personally drink VERY little (it’s been maybe 3 months since I had anything alcoholic), and could easily go without drinking. I went through all of college as a tee-totaler. But I think the church spends FAR too much time on this one issue. There are too many crucial issues for us to tackle and on which to promote the cause of Christ for this to so often distract us.

    • Chris I agree with you. There is much more to the Christian life than whether we drink and I am seeking everyday to allow Father to bring about the fullness of His Son in me. What is a challenge to me is how Paul was prepared to give up enjoying freedom if he thought it would cause his brother to stumble. For him it related to food as well. I love ice cream possibly as much as others love drink. The question is would I give it up for the sake of others. Seeing how drink has become such an issue in our community here maybe showing others how we don’t need drink is as much an act of love as anything else.
      Bless you.

  4. Gregory says:

    Which of the following are you implying:
    1. Jesus didn’t know about the harm it would cause to so many people to see the example of Him drinking wine.
    2. Jesus knew about the above, but He didn’t care.

    If you choose number 1, then aren’t you saying Jesus is not God?

    If number 2, aren’t you saying God is not good?

    • Gregory we don’t know if the wine that Jesus created was achoholic or not. It is quite likely that this wine was extraordinary without having any alcohol at all. What we do know is that God is love and Jesus demonstrated that love when he was at the wedding. In the same way if He attended a wedding today He would do whatever would show God’s love which may not be what He did then.
      Bless you.

Leave a Reply

